Main content

Latest Video


2:33pm  Sep 4, 2015

Hughesy's Spray " AFL Footy Show

12:23pm  Sep 4, 2015

BLK Favourite SUNS: Best of

12:06pm  Sep 4, 2015

Latest News

'I think he realises the value of working hard'

A more meticulous approach to his preparation and an increased work ethic has begun to pay dividends in the second half of the season for Brandon Matera.

12:53pm  Sep 4, 2015

Match Preview: Round 23 v Sydney

2015 draws to a close at the SCG on Saturday night, with Gold Coast facing an in-form Sydney who are peaking at just the right time.

12:22pm  Sep 4, 2015

Opposition Analysis: Sydney

Sydney, the sleeping giants, has recaptured their form in the last month to set themselves up for another tilt at September success.

10:19am  Sep 4, 2015

Inaugural National Female Kickstart Championships kick off

September 9, 2013 10:23 AM

Inaugural National Female Kickstart Championships kick off

Inaugural National Female Kickstart Championships kick off

The inaugural National Female Indigenous Kickstart Championships will be held in Melbourne at Victoria Park this afternoon, with seven teams to be represented at the U18 level. 

Supported by the Coles AFL Indigenous Program and The Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs (FaHCSIA), AFL Head of Diversity Jason Mifsud said the five-day Championships ensure the AFL is growing the reach and impact with Indigenous Australia.

“The National Female Kickstart Championships is the first targeted female Indigenous strategy pursued to support the key objective of driving participation and talent outcomes.

“It will also enable the AFL to drive other social outcomes such as health, education, leadership and employment objectives with Indigenous females.

“We would like to thank FaHCSIA for its significant contribution to the National Female Kickstart Championships and Coles for its tremendous support and commitment to the Coles AFL Indigenous program.” 

The Championships will form the basis for selection to compete in the National Female Youth Championships as part of the AFL Indigenous Female Youth team. The AFL’s Chris Johnson and Xavier Clarke will head the selection process.