Main content

Latest Video

SUNS TV: Nick Holman post-match

9:24pm  Feb 17, 2018

SUNS TV: Fiorini talks AFLX

8:36pm  Feb 17, 2018

Latest News


The Gold Coast SUNS have come away from their inaugural AFLX campaign with one win and one loss at Allianz Stadium on Saturday night.

10:31pm  Feb 17, 2018

Dew Praises Club Environment

Just days away from his first assignment as Gold Coast senior coach, Stuart Dew says the club environment is the best it’s been since he came on board.

3:28pm  Feb 15, 2018

We’re going in the right direction: Sexton

Now going into his seventh year of AFL football, Alex Sexton knows 2018 isn’t going to be any easier than the rest.

1:30pm  Feb 15, 2018

NEAFL: SUNS earn Team of the Year honours

Rhiannon Sargent  August 21, 2017 2:34 PM


Three SUNS have earned NEAFL Team of the Year honours for their efforts across the ground in season 2017.

The team was announced at the NEAFL MVP Awards Ceremony at Sofitel Brisbane on Sunday evening.

Ryan Davis was the first to be included in the team, named at half back flank after his 15 game season that saw him average 23.3 disposals.

Davis had spent the majority of his career playing in the forward 50, but made the switch back this season with resounding results.

Inside midfielder Mitch Hallahan was also named in the team, having shown quality contested ball across his 13 matches this season.

The 25-year-old was also announced 5th overall in the MVP vote and sits 10th for disposals across the NEAFL season.

The final inclusion was Darcy Macpherson, who earned a spot in the forward pocket.

Macpherson’s manic pressure has been the delight of onlookers this year, with his clever skills and willingsness to put his body on the line also on display.

The news of the Team of the Year inclusions comes on the back of the SUNS securing a home elimination final, having finished in fourth place after the home and away season.

Stay tuned to for all the details about the game.

2017 NEAFL Team of the Year

B: Ryan Hebron (Sydney University), Adrian Williams (Redland), Darcy Baron-Hay (Sydney University)
HB: Jeremy Laidler (Sydney), Gavin Grose (Aspley), Ryan Davis (Gold Coast)
C: Jordan Harper (Canberra), Cameron Ilett (NT Thunder), Brandon Jack (Sydney)
HF: Jordan Dawson (Sydney), Jono Freeman (Brisbane), Clay Cameron (Redland)
F: Darcy Macpherson (Gold Coast), Darren Ewing (NT Thunder), Jackson Paine (Redland)
FOLL: Dawson Simpson (GIANTS), Jordan Keras (Southport), Mitch Hallahan (Gold Coast)
INT: Oscar McInerney (Brisbane), Zac O’Brien (Brisbane), Matt Payne (Aspley), Sam Murray (Sydney), Adam Sambono (NT Thunder)

Coach: Tom Morrison (Sydney University)
Captain: Gavin Grose (Aspley)

78: Jordan Keras (Southport)
73: Cameron Ilett (NT Thunder)
73: Zac O’Brien (Sydney Uni)
72: Jordan Dawson (Sydney)
63: Mitch Hallahan (Gold Coast)
61: Tom Young (Sydney Uni)
50: Matthew Payne (Aspley)
43: Darcy Macpherson (Gold Coast)
43: Lewis Stevenson (Sydney Uni)
41: Jordan Harper (Canberra)