TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Latest Video

Alpha Sport Injury Update: Round 22

10:04am  Aug 14, 2018

SUNS TV: Ainsworth Presser

2:16pm  Aug 13, 2018

SUNS TV: Fiorini Presser

11:58am  Aug 13, 2018

Latest News

Alpha Sport Injury Update: Round 22

Pearce Hanley and Will Brodie will be unavailable for the rest of the season, after both went down with hamstring injuries in the Round 22 loss to Richmond.

10:16am  Aug 14, 2018

Ainsworth hunting pride over Lions' cubs

Gold Coast forward/midfielder Ben Ainsworth will be out to prove his worth when the SUNS take on the Lions in QClash16 on Saturday night.

8:52am  Aug 14, 2018

U17s: Big names impress ahead of squad decision

The game's best junior talent have been given their final chance to impress before the squads for this year's Under 17s AFL Grand Final curtain raiser are selected.

8:33am  Aug 14, 2018

NEAFL: Lyons collects six votes in MVP

Jenna Fulton  June 12, 2018 2:39 PM

    - Jarryd Lyons,Josh Schoenfeld

Despite going down to GWS 13.17 (95) to 5.13 (43) on the weekend, two SUNS claimed votes in the NEAFL MVP Award.

Midfielder Jarryd Lyons was prominent in the midfield with 38 disposals, eight tackles and a goal.

Lyons was playing his second NEAFL game in a row and after being contained last week, was the best of the SUNS as he polled six votes in the MVP, behind only the Giant’s Adam Kennedy.   

Josh Schoenfeld put up another solid performance with 31 disposals, ten tackles and two votes in what was a tough game against the Giants. 

Starting the game across half-back, Schoenfeld was everywhere early on, racking up 17 disposals in the first term.

The NEAFL MVP Award is presented to the player uniquely judged the best in the competition by a combination of umpire and coaches votes. 

The votes are submitted post-game cast on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis. As such, the maximum amount of votes a single player can earn per match is 10 – courtesy of the maximum five votes from both umpires and coaches.


GIANTS v Gold Coast

10: Adam Kennedy (Giants)
6: Jarryd Lyons (Gold Coast)
6: Jeremy Finalyson (Giants)
3: Matt Buntine (Giants)
3: Brent Daniels (Giants)
2: Josh Schoenfeld (Gold Coast)



46: Andrew Boston (Southport)
45: Matthew Payne (Aspley)
44: Mitch Maguire (Canberra)
42: Josh Clayton (Southport)
40: Tom Bell (Brisbane)
35: Nic Newman (Sydney)
33: Andrew Swallow (Aspley)
33: Dan Robinson (Sydney)
31: Tom Young (Sydney Uni)
31: Michael Barlow (Gold Coast)