Main content

NEAFL: Returning SUNS poll strongly

  - Gold Coast Suns

Gold Coast midfielder Brayden Fiorini has marked his return from injury with an impressive performance during Saturday’s two-point victory over the GWS Giants.

The 20-year-old racked up 36 disposals, took eight marks and kicked two goals to round out a complete performance which earned him nine votes in the NEAFL MVP.

Playing his first game back after recovering from a leg injury, Fiorini also laid 12 tackles and had seven clearances and inside 50s.

He was well supported in the midfield by another returning SUN in Michael Barlow (eight votes).

The midfielder was the leading possession-getter on the field with 45, to go alongside his nine marks and eight tackles.

Jesse Lonergan (three votes) and Pearce Hanley (two votes) were also among the best, with their experience crucial to the SUNS getting over the line.

Both players finished the game with 31 disposals apiece.

The NEAFL MVP Award is presented to the player uniquely judged the best in the competition by a combination of umpire and coaches votes. 

The votes are submitted post-game cast on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis. As such, the maximum amount of votes a single player can earn per match is 10 – courtesy of the maximum five votes from both umpires and coaches. 


GWS Giants v Gold Coast

9: Brayden Fiorini (Gold Coast)
8: Michael Barlow (Gold Coast)
7: Brett Deledio (Giants)
3: Jesse Lonergan (Gold Coast)
2: Pearce Hanley (Gold Coast)
1: Tim Mohr (Giants)



63: Mitch Maguire (Canberra)
60: Matthew Payne (Aspley)
58: Josh Clayton (Southport)
54: Andrew Boston (Southport)
48: Alex Smout (Canberra)
48: Darcy Cameron (Sydney)
47: Nic Newman (Sydney)
46: Andrew Swallow (Aspley)
43: Abraham Ankers (NT Thunder)
41: Dan Robinson (Sydney)