Main content

NEAFL: Four players poll MVP votes

GOLD COAST, AUSTRALIA - FEBRUARY 23: Will Brodie of the Suns kicks during the AFL pre-season practice match between the Gold Coast Suns and the Brisbane Lions at Metricon Stadium on February 23, 2019 in Gold Coast, Australia. (Photo by Chris Hyde/Getty Images)

Despite a late fightback, Gold Coast’s NEAFL side couldn’t quite get the job done against the Canberra Demons, going down by 11 points. 

Four players shared top votes in the NEAFL MVP Award, as voted by the coaches and umpires. 

A prolific Will Brodie found plenty of the footy playing in midfield, while forward Sam Day kicked a bag of five goals as the two players shared seven votes each.

The Canberra players to share the top votes were midfielders Angus Baker and Mitch Maguire. 

Ruckman Tom Nicholls was the other SUN to poll after a dominant performance in the ruck, winning 34 hit-outs and earning one vote in the process.

The NEAFL Most Valuable Player Award is presented to the player uniquely judged the best in the competition by a combination of umpire and coaches votes.

The votes are submitted post-game cast on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis. As such, the maximum amount of votes a single player can earn per match is 10 – courtesy of the maximum five votes from both umpires and coaches.

Canberra Demons v Gold Coast SUNS
7: Angus Baker (Canberra)
7: Will Brodie (Gold Coast)
7: Mitch Maguire (Canberra)
7: Sam Day (Gold Coast)
1: Tom Nicholls (Gold Coast)
1: Rhys Pollock (Canberra)


10: Jake Veale (Sydney Uni)
10: James Rose (Sydney)
9: Matt Shaw (Southport)
8: James Rowbottom (Sydney)
7: Angus Baker (Canberra)
7: Will Brodie (Gold Coast)
7: Mitch Maguire (Canberra)
7: Sam Day (Gold Coast)
7: Tom Cutler (Brisbane)
7: Allen Christensen (Brisbane)