Main content

Harbrow a Community Leadership Award Finalists

2016 Club Champion: Community Award 2016 Community Award winner Jarrod Harbrow speaks with SUNS TV
MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - JUNE 12: Jarrod Harbrow of the Suns in action during the 2016 AFL Round 12 match between the Richmond Tigers and the Gold Coast Suns at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on June 12, 2016 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Michael Willson/AFL Media)

The AFL is very pleased to announce the four finalists for the 2016 Jim Stynes Community Leadership Award.

1. Jimmy Bartel, Geelong Cats
2. Jarrod Harbrow, Gold Coast Suns
3. Jack Hombsch, Port Adelaide
4. Neville Jetta, Melbourne

The Jim Stynes Community Leadership award is named in honour of former Melbourne Football Club President and player Jim Stynes who passed away in 2012 and will be presented at the 2016 Brownlow Medal.

AFL Chief Executive Officer Mr Gillon McLachlan said the award pays tribute to the contribution Jim Stynes made to the community and commemorates his service and leadership.

“This award honours Jim Stynes’ significant contribution to the community and is a lasting legacy to his standing in the game,” Mr McLachlan said.

Mr McLachlan said Jimmy Bartel, Jarrod Harbrow, Jack Hombsch and Neville Jetta were each exceptional finalists for the award this year, showing leadership and passion through their diverse work with a number of community and charitable organisations.

“This year we are pleased that Matisse Stynes, daughter of Samantha Ludbey-Stynes and Jim Stynes, will be presenting the award to the winner at this year’s Brownlow Medal count.”

Past winners include Carlton’s Dennis Armfield (2015), West Coast Eagles’ Beau Waters (2014), Gold Coast Suns’ Zac Smith (2013) and Richmond’s Daniel Jackson (2012).

Nominations were sought from AFL clubs before the selection panel selected the four finalists.

The winner will receive $20,000 from the AFL and $20,000 from the Jim Stynes Foundation to be donated to the charity or community program of their choice.

The Jim Stynes Community Leadership Award selection panel includes Sam Ludbey-Stynes, 3AW broadcaster Neil Mitchell, Seven Network broadcaster Tim Watson, AFL Players’ Association representative Marissa Filipou, AFL Commissioner Kim Williams, AFL General Manager, Football Operations Mark Evans, Director of Events and Match Day Production Danielle Bleazby and AFL Assistant to the CEO, Tony Peek.


Jimmy Bartel has been selected as a finalist for the work he has committed to through the Just Think Program, the ‘Face up to DV’ campaign he initiated earlier this year based on his own personal experience and his role as an ambassador for Cottage by the Sea.

Jarrod Harbrow has been selected as a finalist for his long term commitment to championing the sporting and cultural interests of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities on the Gold Coast along with the establishment of the Jarrod Harbrow Leadership Academy. We also note the work he has done in guiding the club to embrace the spirit of reconciliation.

Jack Hombsch has been selected as a finalist for the first class work he is doing as an ambassador and mentor for the SAAFL Division C7, ambassador and volunteer for the Bedford Group, ambassador and volunteer for Inclusive Sport SA, ambassador, mentor and volunteer for Kick Start for Kids and volunteer for the Salisbury Connect inclusion program.

Neville Jetta has been selected as finalist for the work he has undertaken with Red Cross, the Juvenile Justice Centre – Parkville College, the Melbourne Indigenous Transition School, Headspace in Western Australia during the off-season and as an Ambassador for Melbourne University’s Indigenous Eye Health Unit supporting trachoma. We also note the lead role he played with the club to assist the develop of its first Reconciliation Action Plan.