Main content

Latest Video

SUNS TV: Intra Club Highlights

6:04pm  Feb 23, 2018

SUNS TV: Bowes on Cairns

5:46pm  Feb 23, 2018

SUNS TV: Mark Evans Interview

5:15pm  Feb 23, 2018

Latest News

SUNS shine on a rainy day

Jack Bowes, Will Brodie and Brayden Fiorini shone, as did Fremantle recruit Lachie Weller, in the intra-club match.

6:46pm  Feb 23, 2018

May looking forward to the "healthy competition" for spots

Captain Steven May is looking forward to the healthy competition for spots among the tall timber

6:32pm  Feb 23, 2018

Evans excited for the season to start

GC SUNS Chief Executive Mark Evans confirmed that the club is looking to schedule another activity for fans before the season kicks off.

6:04pm  Feb 23, 2018

AFL Coaches Votes: Round 1

Kieron Turner  March 28, 2017 9:33 AM

AFL 2017 Round 01 - Gold Coast v Brisbane

Former skipper Gary Ablett was rated the SUNS’ best player in round one by Gold Coast coach Rodney Eade and Lions coach Chris Fagan in the AFL Coaches Association Champion Player of the Year award.

Ablett polled six votes from the coaches after collecting 28 disposals, six clearances, eight tackles, 12 inside 50s and two goal assists. Touk Miller was the only other SUN to register votes, with five to his name for his 27 touches (17 contested), six clearances and goal.

Lions captain and Marcus Ashcroft medallist Dayne Beams scored a perfect 10 as the best player on the ground in QClash13.

Every round, the AFL coaches vote for the best players from their game. The coaches vote for five players, giving them a mark from 1-5.

The maximum a player can score is 10 (with five votes from both coaches).

10 Dayne Beams (BL)
6 Gary Ablett (GC)
5 Touk Miller (GC)
5 Tom Rockliff (BL)
3 Harris Andrews (BL)
1 Dayne Zorko (BL)