Main content

Latest Video

Latest News

Gold Coast SUNS announce major partnership

The Gold Coast SUNS today announced Cover-More Travel Insurance as a major partner for the club.

8:00am  Nov 21, 2017

Tomorrow's Heroes: 50 points down? Here's your man

Meet the midfield bull that dragged his team over the line in a final.

11:12am  Nov 20, 2017

AFLX coming in February 2018

A newly introduced AFLX tournament will see the Suns head to Sydney in mid-February to take part in a round-robin style day along with five other teams.

5:13pm  Nov 17, 2017

Youngsters honoured at Academy awards night

Michael McDowell  September 7, 2017 4:40 PM


Image: Matt Corby | NEAFL

The Gold Coast SUNS Talent Academy held their awards night on Tuesday, with a number of promising young players recognised for their performances in 2017.

Graduate Jack Bowes was on hand to address the 200-strong crowd about his experiences.

Our Female Talent Academy is well represented, with Kalinda Howarth and Arianna Clarke joined by Lauren Bella.

That marks yet another honour for the trio, who were also named in the 2017 NAB AFL Women’s Under 18 All Australian Team.

Another notable award winner was Brayden Crossley, who was also presented with the Academy Player of the Year at the 2017 Club Champion awards night.

A full list of winners can be found below.

Award Winner 2017 Honours
Player of the Year - Female Kalinda Howarth NAB AFL Academy Representative
U18 Queensland Representative
U18 Allies Representative
U18 All Australian Selection
Player of the Year - Male Level 1 (U14) Jed Foggo U14 Div 1 GC League Medal
U14 Northern Rivers Representative

Player of the Year - Male Level 2 (U16)

Connor Budarick Gold Coast Regional and QLD Captain
Level 1 AFL Academy Inductee
NEAFL Debut - Southport
Player of the Year - Male Level 3 (U18) Brayden Crossley AFL Academy Member
U18 Allies Representative
Allies MVP
All Australian U18 Ruckman
National Draft Combine Selection
Staff Member of the Year Rick Sullivan Academy U18 Asst Coach
Queensland U16 Asst
Gold Coast Nth U14 Head Coach


B: Brodie Foster
GC Level 3
Jack Johnston
GC Level 2
Mitch Fitzpatrick
GC Level 2
HB: Jacob Heron
Cairns Level 3
Caleb Graham
Cairns Level 3
Connor Nutting
GC Level 3
C: Arianna Clarke
GC Female
Connor Budarick
GC Level 2
Harry Simington
GC Level 3
HF: Kalinda Howarth
GC Female
Jed Foggo
Nth Rivers Level 1
Alex Davies
Cairns Level 2
F: Fitzroy Greenwool
Cairns Level 3
Damien Burke
Cairns Level 3
Timakoi Bowie
Cairns Level 3
FOLL: Brayden Crossley
GC Level 3
Bailey Scott
GC Level 3
Jacob Dawson
GC Level 3
INT: Daniel Charlesworth
Cairns U19
Sam Davidson
GC Level 3
Emmanuel Baru
Townsville Level 3
  Lauren Bella
Mackay Female
Will Ashcroft
GC Level 1