Main content

Latest Video

Tom Lynch on Marngrook Footy Show

9:18am  Sep 22, 2017

HOSTPLUS Top 5 Plays

5:05pm  Sep 14, 2017

22Under22 Jack Martin Highlights

5:05pm  Sep 13, 2017

Latest News

Season Review: The Draftees looks at how our draftees performed in their first season with the Gold Coast.

3:40pm  Sep 21, 2017

SUNS pen letter for Marriage Equality

The Gold Coast SUNS have today expressed their support for marriage equality.

9:01am  Sep 20, 2017

The SUNS Shop Locker Room Sale is back

Get up to 70% off selected merchandise at the SUNS Shop at our annual Locker Room Sale at the SUNS Shop.

8:53am  Sep 19, 2017

Opening NAB Challenge squad named  February 18, 2016 11:42 AM

AFL 2015 Rd 20 - Richmond v Gold Coast

Tom Lynch will captain the Gold Coast SUNS in Sunday afternoon’s opening NAB Challenge game against the Brisbane Lions in Burpengary with an extended 29-man squad named on Thursday.

Touk Miller, Mitch Hallahan, Aaron Hall, Michael Rischitelli and Jesse Lonergan will be tasked with carrying the load inside the engine room as they did for much of 2015 with the SUNS’ star midfield quartet of Gary Ablett, Dion Prestia, David Swallow and Jaeger O’Meara remaining absent.

After an even battle in Saturday’s intraclub match, Tom Nicholls and Dan Currie will continue to battle for the number one ruck spot in Rodney Eade’s round one side while in the forward arc, Sam Day and Peter Wright will both be looking for a big bag of goals as competition for the second key forward position intensifies.

The talk of the intraclub, 18-year-old West Australian Callum Ah Chee, will be looking to replicate his scintillating form against the Lions while former West Coast Eagle Matt Rosa will debut for the SUNS on a wing.

Should they make the final squad, rookies Ryan Davis, Tom Keough and Darcy Macpherson will get the opportunity to press their claims for senior elevation in their first appearances in SUNS colours.

The 29-man squad will be culled to 26 on Friday, with eight players on the interchange and unlimited rotations per team.

The match also marks the official debut of the GC SUNS new clash guernsey, as voted by the fans in October last year.

Buy the 2016 GC SUNS Clash Guernsey

Don’t miss any of the behind-the-scenes action on Sunday afternoon. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat to get all the latest.

Gold Coast SUNS Squad
NAB Round 1 v Brisbane
Sunday February 21

3. Matt Rosa
4. Jack Martin
6. Alex Sexton
7. Nick Malceski
8. Luke Russell
11. Touk Miller
12. Sam Day
13. Callum Ah Chee
14. Mitch Hallahan
15. Dan Currie
16. Rory Thompson
17. Steven May
19. Tom Lynch (c)
20. Henry Schade
22. Tom Nicholls
23. Sean Lemmens
26. Matt Shaw
27. Clay Cameron
28. Kade Kolodjashnij
30. Peter Wright
32. Brandon Matera
33. Aaron Hall
35. Michael Rischitelli
37. Jesse Lonergan
39. Ryan Davis
40. Tom Keough
41. Jarrod Garlett
44. Darcy Macpherson
48. Seb Tape

For NAB Challenge ticket and venue information, click here.