Main content

Latest Video

Tom Lynch on Marngrook Footy Show

9:18am  Sep 22, 2017

HOSTPLUS Top 5 Plays

5:05pm  Sep 14, 2017

22Under22 Jack Martin Highlights

5:05pm  Sep 13, 2017

Latest News

Season Review: The Draftees looks at how our draftees performed in their first season with the Gold Coast.

3:40pm  Sep 21, 2017

SUNS pen letter for Marriage Equality

The Gold Coast SUNS have today expressed their support for marriage equality.

9:01am  Sep 20, 2017

The SUNS Shop Locker Room Sale is back

Get up to 70% off selected merchandise at the SUNS Shop at our annual Locker Room Sale at the SUNS Shop.

8:53am  Sep 19, 2017

Duo named in 22Under22 team

Michael McDowell  September 13, 2017 10:12 AM

22Under22 Peter Wright Highlights Peter Wright has been named in the AFLPA's 22Under22 team.
AFL 2017 Round 12 - Hawthorn v Gold Coast

Jack Martin and Peter Wright have been named in the AFL Players’ Association 22under22 team.

The final side was voted by fans after an initial 40-player squad was selected by the AFLPA Board.

It was Martin's second consecutive selection in the side and follows his third place finish in Gold Coast's Club Champion award earlier this month.

The utility's poise and decision-making was on show throughout a season that saw him average a career-best 18.6 disposals and 6.3 marks per game.

Wright was named as the starting ruckmen, highlighting his ability to play a dual role.

The 203-cm forward continued his upward trajectory, kicking a career-best 31 goals and finishing second in the SUNS' goalkicking.

Gold Coast were one of five teams with two representatives in the 22under22 team.

Western Bulldogs star Marcus Bontempelli was named captain, with Essendon's Zach Merrett his vice-captain.

To be eligible for selection, players must be aged 22 years and under for the entire season.

Now in its fifth year, 22under22 is the AFL’s only recognised fan-voted award which provides the footy public with the power to select the final 22.

2017 22Under22 team
B: Andrew McGrath, Harris Andrews, Callum Mills
HB: Jayden Hunt, Jake Lever, Ryan Burton
C: Josh Kelly, Clayton Oliver, Marcus Bontempelli
HF: Jack Billings, Charlie Curnow, Jack Martin
F: Orazio Fantasia, Eric Hipwood, Tom Papley
FOLL: Peter Wright, Zach Merrett, Matt Crouch
INT: James Sicily (Def), Isaac Heeney (Mid), Ollie Wines (Mid), Daniel Rioli (Fwd)

Captain: Marcus Bontempelli
Zach Merrett