Main content

Latest Video

Latest News

Thank You 2018 Commonwealth Games Volunteers

2018 Commonwealth Games Volunteers have been invited to attend the Gold Coast SUNS first game back at Metricon Stadium.

4:55pm  May 24, 2018

Eight SUNS Academy players selected into Allies Squad

The 2018 Under 18 Allies Squad has been announced following the conclusion of the NAB Academy Series.

10:45am  May 24, 2018

Heron's debut one of a kind

Jacob Heron is going to find himself in some good trivia quizzes regardless of what happens in the rest of his AFL career.

2:55pm  May 23, 2018

NEAFL MVP: Two SUNS poll in Round 6

Jenna Fulton  May 15, 2018 3:07 PM

Image: Jacob Gaynor | NEAFL - NEAFL

Image: Jacob Gaynor | NEAFL

Despite going down to the Brisbane Lions by 92 points on Saturday, two SUNS players have polled in the NEAFL MVP.

Josh Schoenfeld and Jacob Dawson both showed another consistent performance polling two votes each in the tough loss.

Schoenfeld again put his hand up for AFL selection with 25 disposals and 13 tackles.

18-year-old Dawson could also be a step closer to a debut in the AFL with an impressive 32 disposals, 13 kicks and 6 tackles.

Whilst no player managed to poll a perfect 10 votes, Brisbane’s Ryan Lester took out the most with 9.

The NEAFL MVP Award is presented to the player uniquely judged the best in the competition by a combination of umpire and­­ coaches votes.

The votes are submitted post-game cast on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis. As such, the maximum amount of votes a single player can earn per match is 10 – courtesy of the maximum five votes from both umpires and coaches.


Brisbane v Gold Coast

9: Ryan Lester (Brisbane)
7: Marco Paparone (Brisbane)
7: Tom Bell (Brisbane)
3: Josh Walker (Brisbane)
2: Josh Schoenfeld (Gold Coast)
2: Jacob Dawson (Gold Coast)


40: Andrew Boston (Southport)
29: Josh Clayton (Southport)
27: Tom Bell (Brisbane)
26: Tom Young (Sydney Uni)
26: Mitch Maguire (Canberra)
23: Matthew Payne (Aspley)
18: Cameron Ilett (NT Thunder)
18: Jacob Dawson (Gold Coast)
18: Andrew Swallow (Aspley)
18: Dylan Fyfe (Canberra)