The Gold Coast SUNS will have six new faces when the club launches its 2022 NAB AFLW season against GWS on Sunday afternoon.

As was reported earlier today, Jacqui Dupuy, Tara Bohanna and number one draft pick Charlie Rowbottom will all make their AFLW debuts for the club in Mackay.

Alana Barba has also been named to make her AFLW debut in the forward line.

An exciting mid/forward, Barba joined the SUNS from the Essendon VFLW program where she played 17 matches and kicked 11 goals while averaging 17 disposals and seven tackles per game.

The SUNS will have two club debutants, with Vivien Saad and Claudia Whitfort playing their first games in the red and gold.

Making just as an important debut off the field is Cameron Joyce who will coach his first game for the club.

Reigning Club Champion Lauren Ahrens has successfully overcome an off-season foot injury to resume her place in the side, while Ellie Hampson will also make her long-awaited return from injury.

Tori Groves-Little and Shannon Danckert are unavailable for the match after entering the AFL health and safety protocols.

Captain Hannah Dunn will start in her new role in defence, leading a backline with plenty of AFLW experience.

Rowbottom has been named to start on the ball and is joined in the midfield by Jamie Stanton and new recruit Whitfort.

Hometown hero Lauren Bella will get the chance to play in front of friends and family for the second time in an AFLW fixture, while another Mackay local in Wallis Randell has been named as an emergency alongside draftee Ashanti Bush.

There will be free entry for the Round 1 match against GWS at Great Barrier Reef Arena which gets underway at 5:10pm local time.

The match will be broadcast live on the Seven Network (check your local guide), Fox Footy, Kayo, and the AFLW app.


#42 Jade Pregelj

#7 Lauren Ahrens



#30 Bess Keaney

#24 Hannah Dunn

#23 Kalinda Howarth


#20 Daisy D’Arcy

#4 Claudia Whitfort

#14 Serene Watson


#21 Alana Barba

#26 Kate Surman

#25 Dee Heslop



#12 Tara Bohanna

#2 Lauren Bella


#39 Viv Saad

#8 Charlie Rowbottom

#17 Jamie Stanton


#29 Cheyenne Hammond

#1 Ellie Hampson

#33 Alison Drennan


#28 Sarah Perkins

#27 Jacqui Dupuy



#19 Ashanti Bush

#15 Wallis Randell