The Gold Coast SUNS have officially inducted two champions of the club as Life Members.

The annual Club Champion event presents the opportunity for contributions to the SUNS to be recognised, with both Gary Ablett and Touk Miller joining a distinguished list of existing Gold Coast Football Club Life Members.

Ablett, the club’s inaugural captain and Club Champion, was announced to be a Life Membership inductee at the Round 22 match against Geelong.

Ablett’s contribution to the formative years of the Gold Coast SUNS was profound, including as the first club captain for six seasons, four Club Champion awards in 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2017, All Australian Honours in 2011, 2012, 2013, and 2014, and Brownlow Medal in 2013 as a SUNS player.

Miller qualified for Life Membership after playing his 150th AFL match in Round 12, and the current skipper was quickly ratified by the board to become the sixth player to receive the honour.

Miller has now played 159 games for the Gold Coast SUNS and has this year been recognised further with his second Therabody All-Australian selection and the AFLCA Champion Player of the Year alongside the honours to come tonight.

Both players join former and existing players Jarrod Harbrow, Michael Rischitelli, David Swallow and Alex Sexton as Life Members of the club.

Gold Coast SUNS Life Members:

  • John Witheriff 
  • Bob Gordon 
  • Jarrod Harbrow 
  • Alan ‘Doc’ Mackenzie 
  • Michael Rischitelli
  • Bob East 
  • Paul Scurrah 
  • David Swallow 
  • Alex Sexton 
  • Gary Ablett
  • Touk Miller