Gold Coast SUNS players Chris Burgess and Ned Moyle have had their excellent 2022 VFL seasons acknowledged with selection in the 2022 Smithy’s VFL Team of the Year.

Burgess was named at full forward after a campaign which netted him 63 goals from his 17 regular season and three finals matches.

The 26-year-old averaged three goals per game and kicked a goal in every match, including a season-best seven majors against Collingwood in Round 11.

Moyle led the VFL for hitouts in 2022, playing 21 games and averaging 39.1 hitouts per match.

The 20-year-old has been one of the most consistent players in the VFL in his second season with the SUNS.

Earlier in the night, Burgess was also officially presented the Jim “Frosty” Miller Medal for taking out the league’s goalkicking award.