The 2018 Under 18 Allies Squad has been announced following the conclusion of the NAB Academy Series. 

The Allies form a representative team selected from all six academies that competed in the 2018 NAB AFL Under-18 Division Two Championships and will now compete in the Division One Championships. 

The squad of 50 includes eight SUNS Academy players and SUNS TV got the chance to catch up with two of the selected academy members, Timakoi Bowie and Lachlan McDonald

For McDonald, it is his first time being selected in the squad and says he is really looking forward to the experience and the opportunity. 

“I’m super stoked to be in there, I’m looking forward to playing against the Victorian teams and all the other states, which I should get a lot of experience out of those,” McDonald told SUNS TV. 

“Also, the experience of flying down and just being around all the different people that I’m playing against as well.”

For Bowie, it is his second time being selected in the Allies squad and credits the SUNS Academy for helping his development on and off-field.

“Rainsey (Andrew Raines) and Tornsey (Jason Torney) have helped me not just with footy but my professionalism off the field and being organised with everything” Bowie said.

The Division 1 Championships begin on June 3 and continues until July 4.


Brisbane Lions Academy

Ben Sloan 
Jack Tomkinson
Keidan Coleman
Jesse Quint
Connor McFadyen
Toara Marango
Tom Matthews
Darcy Marsh

Gold Coast Academy

Emmanuel Baru
Ryan Gilmore
Caleb Graham
Dirk Koenan
Bailey Scott
Lachlan McDonald
Connor Budarick
Timakoi Bowie

Greater Western Sydney Academy

Kieran Briggs
Riley Corbett
Jacob Koschitzke
Jeromy Lucas
Guy Richardson
Nick Murray
Matt Walker
James Peatling
Ben Kelly
Thomas Green
Liam Delahunty

Sydney Academy

Joey Reinhard
Josh Stern
Zak Cameron
Kyle McKellar
Nick Blakey
Josh Rayner


Baxter Norton
Chayce Jones
Nick Baker
Tarryn Thomas
Fraser Turner
Blair Rubock
Lachlan Gadomski
Mitch Anderton
Rhyan Mansell
Matt McGuiness
Tim Auckland
Ethan Jackson
Mitch O'Neill

Northern Territory
Matt Green
Michael Mummery
Izaak Wyatt
Rodney Baird