The SUNS have named a VFL side stacked with AFL-listed talent for Saturday afternoon’s home date with Frankston at Heritage Bank Stadium.

The SUNS will be looking to re-join the winner’s list following just its second defeat of the season against a Frankston outfit eyeing its fourth win of the season.

Twenty-two AFL-listed players have been named in Josh Drummond’s side with few changes made to the side that narrowly lost to Essendon a week ago.

Malcolm Rosas Jnr is among the Ins after being omitted from the AFL side, while SUNS Academy product Ben O’Brien is also among the inclusions, named as the 23rd man.

The clash will be league leading goal kicker Brodie McLaughlin’s first against his former side. The versatile forward, who has kicked 36 goals in 13 games this season, joined the SUNS during the off-season after kicking 24 goals for the Dolphins in 2022. 

The sides’ only previous meeting fell the SUNS way in a four-point thriller in July last year.

First bounce is at 12.05pm at Heritage Bank Stadium. Entry is via Gate 6 from 12pm with free admission.

Round 16 VFL team: GC SUNS v Frankston 

  1. M Chol
  2. A Davies
  3. A Sexton
  4. S Day
  5. T Berry
  6. C Burgess
  7. J Sharp
  8. J Tsitas
  9. S Lemmens
  10. C Blakely
  11. B Uwland
  12. C Constable
  13. E Hollands
  14. O Faulkhead
  15. L Johnston
  16. M Rosas Jnr
  17. J Stein
  18. B McLaughlin
  19. S Brock
  20. C Graham
  21. N Moyle
  22. J Farrar
  23. B O’Brien (23rd player)


  1. B Long
  2. C Harrington
  3. J Young
  4. M Corbett
  5. T Dawson
  6. J Eckersley
  7. C Lake
  8. F Hay