Defender Jarrod Harbrow and club debutant Aaron Young have been adjudged equal best on ground by the coaches in Gold Coast’s season opener, polling seven votes each.

The two players were influential at either end of the ground, with Cairns local Harbrow crucial to getting the ball forward and leading the SUNS for metres gained.

Young split his time between midfield and the forward line as he laid nine tackles, gathered 26 disposals and kicked a goal in the wet conditions.

Six votes were awarded to ruckman Jarrod Witts, with his work around the ground resulting in 25 touches and 34 hit-outs.

David Swallow recorded the most disposals of any player on the ground (32) and had seven inside 50s, highlighting his capacity to get the ball forward, and earning him four votes from the coaches. 

Also polling four votes was another Cairns product in Jack Bowes.

The youngster had 20 disposals – 17 of which were kicks – and ranked second for the SUNS in metres gained with 499m.

Midfelder Touk Miller, who had a game-high 11 clearances, rounded out the voting for Gold Coast with one.

The first round of voting for the 2018 Shadforth Financial Group AFLCA Champion Player of the Year Award saw four players across the competition poll perfect 10s.

Sydney forward Lance Franklin, Hawthorn ball magnet Tom Mitchell, St Kilda midfielder Jack Steven and Carlton youngster Patrick Cripps are tied for first on the competition leaderboard.


7 – Jarrod Harbrow (GCS)
7 – Aaron Young (GCS)
6 – Jarrod Witts (GCS)
4 – Jack Bowes (GCS)
4 – David Swallow (GCS)
1 – Touk Miller (GCS)
1 – Jack Ziebell (NM)


AFLCA Champion Player of the Year Leaderboard
10 – Patrick Cripps (Carlton)
10 – Lance Franklin (Sydney Swans)
10 – Tom Mitchell (Hawthorn)
10 – Jack Steven (St Kilda)
9 – Jeremy Cameron (GWS Giants)
9 – Max Gawn (Melbourne)
8 – Darcy Byrne-Jones (Port Adelaide)
8 – Brad Ebert (Port Adelaide)
8 – Lachie Whitfield (GWS Giants)
7 – Blake Acres (St Kilda)
7 – Jarrod Harbrow (Gold Coast SUNS)
7 – Dustin Martin (Richmond)
7 – Luke Parker (Sydney Swans)
7 – Aaron Young (Gold Coast SUNS)


SUNS Leaderboard 
7 – Jarrod Harbrow (GCS)
7 – Aaron Young (GCS)
6 – Jarrod Witts (GCS)
4 – Jack Bowes (GCS)
4 – David Swallow (GCS)
1 – Touk Miller (GCS)