The Streetsmarts Gold Coast SUNS Academy has wrapped up its 2023 campaign with its annual Awards Night at Heritage Bank Stadium.

Celebrating the achievements and progressions of the Academy’s players throughout 2023, awards were presented to members of U16 and U18 Boys and Girls squads, as well as its North Queensland regions.

“It’s fantastic to recognise the outstanding achievements of players in our Academy and a chance to reflect on what’s been a tremendous year for the Gold Coast SUNS Academy,” Academy Manager Kath Newman said.

“As an Academy we have recorded strong on-field results, numerous players have earned representative honours and even more have taken big steps forward in their development as young footballers.

“We’re excited about what’s to come in 2024 and beyond.”

Queensland Under 18 representatives Alannah Welsh, Havana Harris, Sunny Lappin, Tara Harrington, Charlotte Adamson and Kiara Bischa were among the award winners while 15-year-old Ava Usher received awards in both Under 16 and Under 18 age groups.

Five of the SUNS Allies Under 18 Boys squad also received awards in Nick Williams, Jed Walter, Ethan Read, Jake Rogers and Will Graham.

Streetsmarts Gold Coast SUNS Academy 2023 Award Winners

Under 18 Girls

Streetsmarts MVP: Havana Harris

MVP Runner-Up: Tara Harrington

Eximm Sport Most Professional: Charlotte Adamson

Players’ Player: Kiara Bischa

Outstanding Emerging Talent: Ava Usher

Under 18 Boys

Streetsmarts MVP: Nick Williams

MVP Runner-Up: Jed Walter

Most Professional: Ethan Read

Players’ Player: Jake Rogers

Sherpa: Will Graham

Under 16 Girls

Streetsmarts MVP: Alannah Welsh

MVP Runner-Up: Ava Usher

Eximm Sport Most Professional: Sunny Lappin

Players’ Player: Bronte Parker

Outstanding Emerging Talent: Lily-Ann Ryder

Under 16 Boys

Streetsmarts MVP: Beau Adinsall

MVP Runner-Up: Zeke Uwland

Most Professional: Zac Eckersley

Players’ Player: Beau Adinsall

Sherpa: Matthew Hoy

North Queensland

Cairns Player of the Year: Heidi Talbot

Townsville Player of the Year: Neive Ryan

Mackay Player of the Year: Eva Hooper

Capricornia Player of the Year: Ty Fitzgerald