The Gold Coast SUNS’ opening two fixtures of the 2024 VFL season will take place at Heritage Bank Stadium with the AFL today locking in the first 13 rounds of this season’s fixture.

Venues and times for Rounds 1-13 have today been confirmed while Round 14 onwards will be confirmed once the last part of the AFL fixture is announced later in the year. 

As confirmed last week, the SUNS will open its VFL premiership defence at home against Richmond on Saturday, March 23. It will be three weeks before the side’s second outing of the campaign with a bye scheduled in Round 2, followed by a competition-wide break the following weekend.

The SUNS will then host Box Hill Hawks as part of a double header alongside the AFL fixture against Hawthorn at Heritage Bank Stadium on Saturday, April 13.

Heritage Bank Stadium will play host to a further three matches in the first 13 rounds, including a blockbuster clash against local rivals Southport Sharks on Sunday, May 12 and a Grand Final rematch against Werribee on Sunday, June 2.

The SUNS were undefeated in its nine outings at Heritage Bank Stadium in 2023, winning by an average of 62 points.

The Brisbane Lions will host the first QClash of the season at Brighton Homes Arena on Sunday, May 5 before the SUNS host the return fixture in Round 18, venue TBC.

The SUNS’ three byes are scheduled in Rounds 2, 8 and 12.

“We have worked closely with clubs and believe the 2024 fixtures for the Smithy’s VFL and VFLW competitions provide the foundation for a great season of state league football,” AFL Head of State League Competitions Jennie Loughnan said. 

“I thank the clubs for working with us on developing the fixtures and also thank the fans for their patience as we factor in the many considerations that impact our fixtures.”