The SUNS will have 15 AFL-listed players take the field against the Sharks.

Coming into the team are Ethan Read, Rory Atkins and Will Graham who have been omitted from AFL level, while Brandon Ellis also returns after being managed last week.

Alex Sexton, Bodhi Uwland, Sam Day, Alex Davies, Lloyd Johnston and Joel Jeffrey come out of the side on AFL duties.

The Mackenzie Cup is named in honour of Alan ‘Doc’ Mackenzie who was an influential figure in Queensland football for both the Southport Sharks and Gold Coast SUNS.

Mackenzie was the president of the Southport Sharks for 49 years and was also an inaugural Board member of the Gold Coast SUNS, culminating in his elevation to Life Membership of the club in 2018.

This weekend is the third edition of the Mackenzie Cup, with the ledger squared at one win apiece.

It is free entry for the match at People First Stadium which gets underway at 1:05pm.

Gold Coast SUNS VFL Team v Southport Sharks:


C. Graham (46)

S.Brock (45)

C. Budarick (35)


E. Read (20)

R. Atkins (2)

C. Elliott (51)


H. Oea (47)

J. Tsitas (21)

B. Ellis (4)


N. Francis (64)

J. Mahony (42)

T. Reeves (61)


J. Farrar (50)

W. Rowlands (36)

L. Casboult (30)


N. Moyle (49)

D. Macpherson (44)

W. Graham (26)


J. Zanker-Close (59)

H. Sullivan (53)

C. Hitchcock (57)


F. Hay (52)

L. Snowball (54)


23rd Player

L. Snowball (54)


M. Evans (63)

J. Butler (55)

T. Ferguson (60)

N. Kady (62)

O. Wood (58)






E. Read

R. Atkins

B. Ellis

W. Graham

J. Zanker-Close

C. Hitchcock





A. Sexton (AFL)

B. Uwland (AFL)

S. Day (AFL)

A. Davies (AFL)

L. Johnston (AFL)

J. Jeffrey (AFL)