SUNS midfielder Aaron Young has polled six NEAFL MVP votes in the loss to Brisbane on the weekend.

Young was the best SUN afield, accumulating 40 disposals and laying nine tackles in defeat.

The 26-year-old also had nine marks on the day, highlighting his work-rate off the ball to get in good positions and help his team.

Young has been in impressive form to start the year, averaging 38 touches from his three matches so far playing predominately as a midfielder. 

Brisbane’s Ben Keays polled the maximum number of votes in the NEAFL QClash with a perfect 10.

The NEAFL Most Valuable Player Award is presented to the player uniquely judged the best in the competition by a combination of umpire and coaches votes.

The votes are submitted post-game cast on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis. As such, the maximum amount of votes a single player can earn per match is 10 – courtesy of the maximum five votes from both umpires and coaches.

The progress of the MVP voting is published on the NEAFL website for the first 12 rounds of the season, but withheld from that point on until the winner is revealed at the end of season awards night.


Gold Coast v Brisbane
10: Ben Keays (Brisbane)
8: Corey Lyons (Brisbane)
6: Aaron Young (Gold Coast)
3: Keidean Coleman (Brisbane)
2: Toby Wooller (Brisbane)
1: Archie Smith (Brisbane)


29: Matt Shaw (Southport)
19: Ben Keays (Brisbane)
18: James Rowbottom (Sydney)
17: Colin O’Riordan (Sydney)
16: Mitch Maguire (Canberra)
15: Corey Lyons (Brisbane)
14: Jake Veale (Sydney Uni)
14: Tristan Davies (Sydney Uni)
14: Isaac Cumming (GIANTS)
14: Adam Gulden (Sydney Uni)