The Gold Coast SUNS are pleased to confirm the contract extensions of four of its brightest young players with Will Brodie, Caleb Graham, Darcy MacPherson and Jez McLennan all committing their futures to the club until the end of the 2022 season.

Brodie had strung together six games in the senior side earlier this season when he began to show his wares at AFL level, before unfortunately being struck down with injury.

“I’m loving playing my football on the Gold Coast and I’m super excited to be a part of the bright future here at the club,” Brodie said.

“I’ve worked hard with all of the staff here at the club to improve my overall game, and I can’t wait to continue that education over the coming years.”

MacPherson has taken his game to another level in 2019 after being added to the SUNS primary list at the end of last season.

Having played 20 games to date in 2019, the pressure forward has regularly featured amongst the club’s best players and currently sits sixth in the league for tackles.  

“I’m stoked to be a SUN for the next couple of years,” MacPherson said.

“My dream was always to play AFL footy, and I’m grateful for the opportunity the club has given me.

“I’ve got a huge amount of belief in the future direction of the club.”
2018 first round draftee, Jez McLennan and SUNS academy product Caleb Graham said they were excited to extend their contracts with the club.

“Since moving, I have loved my time on the Gold Coast and am extremely excited to re-sign with the SUNS,” McLennan said.

“I grew up wanting to play for the club and I’m proud to call myself a SUNS player,” Graham said.

“There is a strong culture here that is going to continue to grow and I’m looking forward to the road ahead,” he added.

General Manager Football Operations Jon Haines said the commitment of all four players was a testament to the hard work everyone at the club had put into creating the right environment.

“It’s exciting to have Will, Caleb, Darcy and Jez join a group of ten other players who have already committed their futures to the club throughout the year,” Haines said.

“The players are really buying into the club and environment were trying to create and they’re the ones who will help drive us forward.

Along with today’s announcement David Swallow, Jarrod Witts, Touk Miller, Alex Sexton, Rory Thompson, Peter Wright, Ben Ainsworth, Jack Bowes, Izak Rankine and Sam Day have all extended their contracts with the club throughout 2019.