Five male SUNS Academy players have been named to represent the Allies in next year’s 2020 AFL Academy Squad. 

Future prospects Alex Davies, Aiden Fyfe, Jack Johnston, Rhys Nicholls and Ryan Pickering were all named in the 30-player squad announced on Wednesday.

The recently expanded NAB AFL Academy program will see 150 players across each state and territory take part in high performance camps focusing on players on and off-field education. 

Due to the nature of the Allies squad consisting of players from QLD, NT, NSW/ACT and TAS, the program will see the 30 players train at AFL clubs from November 18 – December 20.

AFL National Talent Pathways Manager Marcus Ashcroft said it is an exciting time for the country’s best young talent.
“The new approach to the national NAB AFL Academy, introduced for the first time in 2018, will again ensure more of our most talented players have access to AFL facilities, while receiving the best quality coaching, high performance and well-being services in the country,” he said.
“Importantly these players will spend more time in their home states, with year-round first-class support that will enhance their opportunity to perform at an elite level.
“I congratulate all players who have been named in their NAB AFL Academy Squads today and I look forward to watching their development over the next few years.”
The best Under-17 and Under-18 players from the state academies will also have the opportunity to attend national camps. These activities include:

  • NAB AFL Under-17 Futures players to spend a week at an AFL club (December 2019)
  • The best 24 Under-18 players to represent Australia against VFL opposition (April 2020)
  • The best 24 Under-17 players to represent Australia against New Zealand (April 2020)
  • NAB AFL Under-17 Futures Game (2020 Toyota AFL Grand Final Day)


2020 NAB AFL Academy Squad – Allies:

Tahj Abberley Brisbane Lions Academy/Sandgate

Samuel Banks Tasmania Devils/Clarence

Jack Briskey Brisbane Lions Academy/Western Magpies/Toowoomba

Charlie Byrne Murray Bushrangers/Albury

Jackson Callow Tasmania Devils/North Launceston

Braeden Campbell Sydney Swans Academy/Westbrook

Blake Coleman Brisbane Lions Academy/Morningside

Sam Collins Tasmania Devils/North Hobart

Saxon Crozier Brisbane Lions Academy/Morningside

Alex Davies Gold Coast SUNS Academy/Cairns/Broadbeach

Oliver Davis Tasmania Devils/Clarence

Jack Driscoll GWS GIANTS Academy/Yerong Creek

Ryan Eyers Murray Bushrangers/Corowa/Rotherglen

Joshua Fahey GWS GIANTS Academy/Queanbeyan Tigers

Aidan Fyfe Gold Coast SUNS Academy/Broadbeach

Joshua Green GWS GIANTS Academy/Marist/ACT

Errol Gulden Sydney Swans Academy/Maroubra Saints

Joel Jeffrey NT Thunder/Wanderers

Jack Johnston Gold Coast SUNS Academy/Palm Beach

Brodie Lake NT Thunder/Southern Districts

Tyrell Lui NT Thunder/Wanderers

Noah McFadyen Brisbane Lions Academy/Wilston Grange

Carter Michael Brisbane Lions Academy/Maroochydore

Rhys Nicholls Gold Coast SUNS Academy/Labrador

Kye Pfrengle Sydney Swans Academy/Cronulla Sharks

Ryan Pickering Gold Coast SUNS Academy/Townsville/Hermit Park Tigers

Marco Rossman Sydney Swans Academy/East Sydney Bulldogs

Mark Sheather Sydney Swans Academy/Pennant Hills

Sam Stening GWS GIANTS Academy/Wagga Swans

Patrick Walker Tasmania Devils/North Hobart