The Gold Coast SUNS has named its inaugural AFLW side to take on GWS at Blacktown this weekend.

10 players will be making their AFLW debuts; Lauren Ahrens, Jade Pregelj, Lexi Hamilton, Cheyenne Hammond, Dee Heslop, Jordann Hickey, Kalinda Howarth, Molly Ritson, Kate Surman and Serene Watson.

Out of the 21 players named, seven are local Gold Coast products and a further seven originate from Queensland.

When the ball is bounced for the first time, the team will become the first national women’s sporting team to represent the Gold Coast.

READ: SUNS AFLW Season Preview

 The side will be led by co-captains Sam Virgo and Leah Kaslar who have been named at opposite ends of the ground.

The match at Blacktown International Sports Park in Sydney kicks off at 1:10pm local time (12:10pm AEST). 

Members and fans on the Gold Coast who are unable to travel to the game can watch it LIVE on Fox Footy, Kayo or 7Mate from 12pm AEST (check your local guides).

All matches are also streamed LIVE via and the AFLW Official App.

AFLW Round 1 Team v GWS GIANTS



42. Jade Pregelj

4. Jordann Hickey



22. Sam Virgo

7. Lauren Ahrens

29. Cheyenne Hammond


19. Tiarna Ernst

17. Jamie Stanton

12. Molly Ritson


16. Brittany Perry    

30. Lexi Hamilton

1. Paige Parker



11. Leah Kaslar

26. Kate Surman


2. Lauren Bella

5. Jacqui Yorston             

24. Hannah Dunn


25. Dee Heslop

20. Jasmyn Hewett 

23. Kalinda Howarth


8. Sally Riley

14. Serene Watson



15. Tayla Thorn

10. Maddy Roberts