After a consistent year on the field, the Gold Coast SUNS have had a record eight players nominated in the AFL Players’ Association 22Under22 squad. 

2020 Rising Star nominees Noah Anderson, Connor Budarick and Izak Rankine make their first appearance in the 40-man squad after outstanding debut seasons. 

They’re joined by second-year players Ben King and Jack Lukosius, as well as Charlie Ballard, Jack Bowes and Ben Ainsworth

It’s the first time an AFL club has had eight players represented in the initial squad. 

Players earn nomination from the AFLPA board, in conjunction with Champion Data, with the final team voted on by the public.

The team recognises the best 22 players aged 22 and under for the entirety of the season (until October 24) who have made an impact at their respective clubs so early in their careers.

The concept was first introduced in 2013, with the SUNS having 19 players selected in the team across its history, including two in the first AFLW 22Under22 team (Lauren Bella and Kalinda Howarth) selected earlier this year.

Voting for the final 22 is open for 10 days, from September 8 to September 18, with the team announced on September 22.

Click here to cast your vote for the SUNS selected in the squad.