SUNS captain Jarrod Witts has received the honour of being named the starting ruckman in the NSW Australian Football History Society’s 2020 State of Origin team.

The team, which will be selected annually, recognises the best players in their positions in a given season to have originated from New South Wales.

This year’s selection committee included Gerard Healy and Mike Sheahan, who were both part of the panel that chose the Greatest NSW AFL Team of All Time in 2019.

Wayne Carey, Mark Maclure and Rod Gillett made up the remainder of the selection panel.

Witts played for Sydney University before being drafted to Collingwood as an 18-year-old, then joined the SUNS ahead of the 2017 season.

In 2020 he played all 17 games and averaged 28 hitouts per game.


2020 NSW State of Origin team:


Harry Cunningham (Syd)

Dougal Howard (StK)

Harry Perryman (GWS)


Callum Mills (Syd)

Dane Rampe (Syd)

Zac Williams (GWS)


Isaac Smith (Haw)

Jacob Hopper (GWS)

Will Setterfield (Carl)


Luke Breust (Haw)

Tom Hawkins (Geel)

Lachie Shultz (Freo)


Michael Gibbons (Carl)

Harry Himmelberg (GWS)

Taylor Walker (Adel)


Jarrod Witts (GCS)

Isaac Heeney (Syd)

Matthew Kennedy (Carl)


Jeremy Finlayson (GWS)

Aaron vandenBerg (Melb)

Nick Blakey (Syd)


Todd Marshall (PA)