The Gold Coast SUNS will have 14 AFL-listed players suit up in the VFL match against Southport this Friday night at Fankhauser Reserve.

Key defender Jack Hombsch will make his return after injuring his calf in the VFL match against Collingwood three weeks ago.

Ben Ainsworth will also come into the team after being omitted from the AFL Round 10 team, while Jeremy Sharp also returns after missing the VFL QClash last Thursday.

Alex Sexton and Zac Smith come out of the side after earning AFL recalls, with developing tall Patrick Murtagh likely to shoulder ruck duties for the SUNS in Smith’s absence.

There will be eight SUNS Academy players take the field for Gold Coast against fourth-placed Southport.

Entry is free for the match which gets underway at 7pm.

A livestream will be made available via the Southport Sharks YouTube channel.

VFL Round 6 Team v Southport:

5. Jarrod Harbrow

7. Will Brodie

8. Brayden Fiorini

9. Ben Ainsworth

20. Jack Hombsch

21. Jacob Townsend

30. Alex Davies

31. Jordan Murdoch

33. Aiden Fyfe

37. Jeremy Sharp

38. Rhys Nicholls

40. Joel Jeffrey

42. Patrick Murtagh

43. Jez McLennan

51. Max Pescud*

52. Bailey Reeves*

53. James Smith*

56. Mackenzie Riddle*

57. Alexander Rayner*

58. Riley Winter*

59. Jack Willis*

60. Ryan Pickering*

*SUNS Academy