The Gold Coast SUNS have four young guns nominated for the AFL Players’ Association’s 22Under22 squad this season.

Claudia Whitfort, Charlie Rowbottom, Ellie Hampson and Serene Watson have all been recognised for their efforts in 2022 and have been included in the 40-person squad.

Whitfort, who was also nominated for the squad in 2021, had a career-best season in her first year at the SUNS, playing extensive minutes through the midfield while also being dangerous up forward.

Rowbottom made an instant impact at AFLW level since being taken at pick 1 in the draft, averaging 16 disposals and six tackles per game and also being nominated for the NAB AFLW Rising Star award in Round 2.

Hampson too was nominated for the Rising Star after enjoying a breakout, injury-free season in the midfield in her third year with the club.

Click here to cast your vote.

Watson took another step in her development this year, being promoted to the leadership group for the first time and showing her versatility at multiple times throughout the season, being used on both the wing and in defence.

22Under22, presented by Snaffle, is a fan-voted concept that recognises the best 22 players aged 22 and under for the entirety of the AFLW season (including Grand Final day – April 4).

The AFLPA, supported by Champion Data, has selected the squad with players having been required to play a minimum of five games throughout the season to be eligible.

The concept was first introduced in 2013 in the men’s competition to reward the young players who make an impact on their club and the competition so early in their careers.

This is the third iteration of the AFLW 22Under22. 

Those selected in the final team are presented with a custom-made 22Under22 jumper, while the Captain and Vice-Captain will also receive a gift from Snaffle.

Voting is open for seven days from March 15 to March 22, with the winner to be announced by the AFLPA on Tuesday March 29 ahead of the AFLW MVP Awards.

Click here to cast your vote.