The Gold Coast SUNS have appointed co-captains for the Round 1 QW Winter Series match against Brisbane this Saturday afternoon.

SUNS AFLW Senior Coach David Lake announced the leadership model to the playing group on Thursday night, with veteran Sam Virgo and young-gun Jacqui Yorston set to lead the side for the first match.

“We’ll have a couple of leaders on the weekend and we’ll rotate through so we can ultimately work out where we sit for 2020,” Lake said.

“Sam has a lot of experience and has led the way though the training sessions we’ve had so we’re extremely confident she’ll lead us well. 

“What I’ve enjoyed most about Jacqui coming to this footy club is that we now start to see her personality come out and contribute to other people.

She’s got so much to offer but now she’s in a position where she can actually let that out.” 

Lake will have the support of four assistant coaches for the QW Winter Series.

Andrew Swallow, Darryl White, John Taylor and Matt Bedford will assist Lake throughout the four-match series.


QW Winter Series Schedule

Game 1 
Saturday 25 May, 4.45pm
Metricon Stadium
Gold Coast SUNS v Brisbane Lions

Game 2 
Saturday 23 June, 12.00pm
Great Barrier Reef Arena, Mackay
Gold Coast SUNS v Brisbane Lions

Game 3 
Saturday 13 July, 2.00pm
The Gabba
Brisbane Lions v Gold Coast SUNS

Representative Match
Saturday 20 July
Optus Stadium, Perth
Queensland v WA