The Gold Coast SUNS have made two changes to the team to face Sydney at the SCG on Saturday afternoon.

As reported earlier today by SUNS Media, Rory Thompson returns to the AFL side for his first game in 1379 days.

Thompson has undergone two ACL rehabilitations since his last match in Round 19, 2018 and has been included this week, after three games in the VFL, to help combat Sydney’s tall forward line.

Returning after a week on the sidelines is Wil Powell who has overcome his hamstring complaint and has been named on the interchange.

Connor Budarick has proven his fitness after being subbed out of the match against Collingwood with an ankle injury and has also been named on the interchange.

Making way from the team are Alex Davies, Darcy Macpherson and last week’s medical substitute Jeremy Sharp who have all been omitted.

This week’s medical substitute will be announced prior to the bounce from the emergency list of Rory Atkins, Alex Davies, Darcy Macpherson and Oleg Markov.

First bounce is at 1:45pm on Saturday, with the VFL match against Williamstown also getting underway at 2:05pm.

The AFL match will be broadcast live on the Seven Network (check your local guide), Fox Footy and Kayo while the VFL match will be live-streamed through the AFL Official App.

Round 8 Team:


16. Rory Thompson

25. Sam Collins

23. Sean Lemmens


14. Lachie Weller

10. Charlie Ballard

50. Jy Farrar


24. David Swallow

11. Touk Miller

4. Brandon Ellis


9. Ben Ainsworth

30. Levi Casboult

41. Malcolm Rosas Jnr


13. Jack Lukosius

1. Mabior Chol

7. Nick Holman


28. Jarrod Witts

18. Matt Rowell

15. Noah Anderson


35. Connor Budarick

8. Brayden Fiorini

27. Wil Powell


22. Izak Rankine



2. Rory Atkins

5. Alex Davies

44. Darcy Macpherson


17. Oleg Markov