The Gold Coast SUNS will crown its AFLW Season Seven Club Champion this Saturday among a number of other awards from the second AFLW campaign of 2022.

SUNS Media have taken a look at the contenders for the top honour. Share your thoughts on who’ll take out this season’s AFLW Club Champion below.

The Season Six Club Champion race couldn’t have been any closer with Alison Drennan pipping first-year midfield compatriot Charlie Rowbottom by a single vote.

Both players have had outstanding seasons in the SUNS engine room, both finishing among the league leaders in a number of key statistics including disposals and Inside 50s and will be among the contenders for this season’s top honour.

Rowbottom continued to go from strength-to-strength in her second season, finishing fifth in the competition for contested possessions (13.7 per game) while Drennan will be looking to become the first two-time winner of the award.

Claudia Whitfort was another prolific ball winner, and damaging user, for the SUNS in Season Seven – her second as a Gold Coast SUN. She featured in all 10 games and she led the SUNS in both metres gained (254.1 per game) and Inside 50s (four per game).

That trio, alongside four-time Tribal Sport Player of the Round Ellie Hampson were regularly serviced some tidy ruck work from Lauren Bella who again rubber stamped her name as one of the finest talls in the competition, finishing fourth in the league for hitouts (22.3 per game).

Defenders Vivien Saad and 2021 Club Champion Lauren Ahrens continued to develop a formidable partnership as the SUNS key backs – the former finishing third in the competition for intercept possessions. Both players featured in all 10 games for the SUNS, as did two-time defending Players’ Player Daisy D’Arcy who will be among the top contenders on the back of a season that included a NAB Rising Star Award nomination.

The goalkicking prowess of Tara Bohanna and Courtney Jones has both their names in the mix, while Jac Dupuy also provided plenty of influence both in front of goal and in the ruck.

VOTE NOW: Who are you tipping to take out this season’s AFLW Club Champion? 

AFLW Season Six Award Winners:

Club Champion: Alison Drennan
Club Champion Runner-Up: Charlie Rowbottom
Club Champion Third Place: Jamie Stanton
Players’ Player: Daisy D’Arcy
Most Professional: Tara Bohanna
Coach’s Award: Claudia Whitfort