The AFLW hosted its night of nights with a host award winners named at the Season Seven W Awards on Tuesday night.

We recap the event for your favourite Gold Coast SUNS AFLW stars. Goal of the Year

Northern Territory product Ashanti Bush became the first SUNS player – male or female – to take out Goal of the Year with her remarkable on-the-run finish in Round 10 adjudged as the best of the bunch.

“I feel really proud of myself,” Bush said as she accepted the award on Tuesday night.

“I don’t normally practice those kicks. I practice a lot of set shots, but I’ve never kicked a goal like that.

“I would like to thank my family, they mean a lot to me. The Gold Coast SUNS for their support and everything they’ve done for me, as well as everyone who’s been there supporting me along the way.”

AFLW Best & Fairest

Seven SUNS players earned votes, led by Charlie Rowbottom who rounded out an impressive second AFLW campaign with an equal-sixth place finish in the AFLW Best & Fairest count.

The 19-year-old had four best-on-ground performances against St Kilda, Sydney Swans, Carlton & the GWS Giants while also polling in a further two matches.

Alison Drennan (Round 2 v West Coast) and Tara Bohanna (Round 5 v Port Adelaide) also earned best-on-ground honours while Drennan, Kalinda Howarth and Claudia Whitfort all earned votes in multiple games.

Charlie Rowbottom – 15
Kalinda Howarth – 5
Alison Drennan – 4
Claudia Whitfort – 4
Tara Bohanna – 3
Jac Dupuy – 1
Ellie Hampson – 1


Round 1 v North Melbourne
1 vote: Kalinda Howarth

Round 2 v West Coast Eagles
3 votes: Alison Drennan
2 votes: Claudia Whitfort

Round 4 v St Kilda
3 votes: Charlie Rowbottom
2 votes: Kalinda Howarth

Round 5 v Port Adelaide
3 votes: Tara Bohanna
2 votes: Charlie Rowbottom
1 vote: Alison Drennan

Round 6 v Richmond
1 vote: Charlie Rowbottom

Round 7 v Sydney Swans
3 votes: Charlie Rowbottom
2 votes: Claudia Whitfort
1 vote: Jac Dupuy

Round 9 v Carlton
3 votes: Charlie Rowbottom
2 votes: Kalinda Howarth
1 vote: Ellie Hampson

Round 10 v GWS Giants
3 votes: Charlie Rowbottom