Gold Coast SUNS have locked in 23 returning players to its AFLW list for the upcoming NAB AFLW 2023 season.

Among the 23 players re-committing to the GC SUNS are captain Tara Bohanna, as well as the club’s four AFLW Club Champion winners in Charlie Rowbottom, Alison Drennan, Lauren Ahrens and Jamie Stanton.

The entirety of the club’s Season Seven Club Champion Top 10 are locked in for 2023 with third-place Claudia Whitfort, All-Australian squad member Vivien Saad, key talls Lauren Bella and Jac Dupuy, young defender Daisy D’Arcy and vice-captain Bess Keaney all set for another season on the Gold Coast.

Kalinda Howarth will also call the GC SUNS home again in 2023, making it four inaugural SUNS AFLW squad members locked in for their fifth seasons at the club. 

“We are thrilled to see the commitment of this group to the Gold Coast SUNS. It’s a great mix of experienced and seasoned players with developing, young talent that will continue to take this group forward for years to come,” GC SUNS Head of Women’s Football Fiona Sessarago said. 

“We believe this group, combined with the talent that we’ve brought into the club during the Sign & Trade period, will allow us to keep developing, improving and taking steps forward as a squad.”

Tasmanian product and Season Seven debutant Claire Ransom has also been moved to the inactive list for the 2023 campaign.

The SUNS have also welcomed five new faces to the club with Maddy Brancatisano, Jordan Membrey, Clara Fitzpatrick, Ella Maurer and Niamh McLaughlin joining in recent weeks.


Lauren Ahrens, Lauren Bella, Gabrielle Biedenweg-Webster, Tara Bohanna, Maddy Brancatisano, Ashanti Bush, Georgia Clayden, Daisy D’Arcy, Giselle Davies, Alison Drennan, Jac Dupuy, Clara Fitzpatrick, Kalinda Howarth, Alana Gee, Bess Keaney, Kaylee Kimber, Ella Maurer, Niamh McLaughlin, Jordan Membrey, Tahlia Meyer, Wallis Randell, Claire Ransom (inactive), Charlie Rowbottom, Vivien Saad, Lucy Single, Jasmyn Smith, Jamie Stanton, Claudia Whitfort