The Gold Coast SUNS have four inclusions in the 2023 Smithy’s VFL Team of the Year.

After jointly sharing the Jim “Frosty” Miller medal as VFL leading goalkickers, both Chris Burgess and Brodie McLaughlin have been named in the forward line.

In defence, SUNS Academy product Caleb Graham and Charlie Constable have both been recognised for their outstanding individual seasons.

Burgess booted 58 goals from 17 regular season and two finals matches after also receiving Smithy’s VFL Team of the Year honours in 2022.

It is McLaughlin’s first time in the Smithy’s VFL Team of the Year, after the first-year SUN kicked 52 goals from 19 matches including the Qualifying Final.

Graham played 20 VFL matches in 2023 (including two finals) and averaged 14 disposals and eight marks per game as a lockdown defender.

Constable played predominately as a rebounding defender and finished ranked 6th in the VFL for total disposals, averaging 30 per game along with seven marks from his 18 matches.