The Gold Coast SUNS have locked in 22 returning players to its AFLW list for the 2024 season. 

Among the 22 players committed to the club is Club Champion Claudia Whitfort, runner-up Charlie Rowbottom, third-place Daisy D’Arcy and captain Tara Bohanna.

2023 leading goalkicker Jamie Stanton has put pen to paper for a sixth season on the Gold Coast while Jac Dupuy, Lucy Single, Maddy Brancatisano and Niamh McLaughlin – all of whom achieved Top 10 Club Champion finishes in 2023 – will don the red and gold in 2024.

McLaughlin is signed on for her second AFLW campaign on the Gold Coast, as are Irish counterparts Cara McCrossan and Clara Fitzpatrick.

Single and D’Arcy are among six SUNS Academy products on board for 2024 alongside Lauren Bella, Darcie Davies, Wallis Randell and Alana Gee.

The 22 returning players will be joined by All-Australian tall Katie Lynch, key defender Charlotte Wilson and young Queenslander Ella Smith who all completed moves to the Gold Coast during the recent Trade Period.

“We are thrilled to see this large contingent of players locked in for 2024,” GC SUNS Head of Women’s Football Fiona Sessarago said. 

“I’m sure SUNS supporters will be thrilled to see the top three from our recent Club Champion awards in Claudia Whitfort, Charlie Rowbottom and Daisy D’Arcy all ready to return next season.

“It’s wonderful to also see six products of our Academy, and several more Queenslanders and Gold Coast locals, as part of this group. 

“We recorded our best AFLW result yet in 2023 and we believe this cohort, along with additions we’ve made during the Trade Period, will allow us to continue developing, improving and taking steps forward into next year and beyond.” 

The Gold Coast SUNS also hold a second-round selection and five third-round selections in Monday night’s AFLW Draft. 


Elise Barwick, Lauren Bella, Tara Bohanna, Maddy Brancatisano, Ashanti Bush, Georgia Clayden, Daisy D’Arcy, Darcie Davies, Jac Dupuy, Clara Fitzpatrick, Alana Gee, Meara Girvan, Katie Lynch, Ella Maurer, Cara McCrossan, Niamh McLaughlin, Jordan Membrey, Wallis Randell, Charlie Rowbottom, Vivien Saad, Lucy Single, Ella Smith, Jamie Stanton, Claudia Whitfort, Charlotte Wilson