The Gold Coast SUNS have welcomed five young talents to its list in Monday night’s AFLW Draft.

Bendigo Pioneers product Keely Fullerton was the SUNS’ first selection, joining the club with Pick 36 ahead of versatile defender Taya Oliver with Pick 45.

Two SUNS Academy graduates and Burleigh Bombers products in Kiara Bischa and Sienna McMullen joined a growing list of Academy talents elevated to the club’s AFLW squad, taken with Picks 50 and 51 respectively, before Northern Territory product Annabel Kievit was selected with Pick 52.

“We’re thrilled to welcome Keely, Taya, Kiara, Sienna and Annabel to our club,” GC SUNS Head of Women’s Football Fiona Sessarago said.

“All five are developing into not only talented young players, but versatile footballers who will be important to our program as we aim to keep improving and building in 2024.

“It’s also fantastic to see another two Gold Coasters in Kiara and Sienna – both products from the Burleigh Bombers and SUNS Academy – earn their opportunities in our squad.

“Burleigh has been a strong supporter of female football on the Gold Coast, from juniors through to women’s, and I’m sure it’s rewarding for everyone involved at the club to see two of their own become AFLW players.

“I’m sure all our supporters are looking forward to seeing all five players in the red and gold.”

Fullerton is a supremely skilled and athletic left-footer most commonly seen in the front half of the ground who had a superb 2023 for both the Pioneers and Vic Country.

Coorparoo livewire Taya Oliver was earlier this rewarded for a superb 2023 QAFLW season which included Team of the Year selection and a berth in the Queensland squad that faced Tasmania in July.

Both McMullen and Bischa are Burleigh Bombers juniors who have also played for Bond University in the QAFLW. The duo both represented Queensland at the 2023 Under 18 National Championships with Bischa earning All-Australian selection before also being named as the SUNS Academy Female Player of the Year.

Kievit becomes the latest Territorian added to the SUNS list and brings plenty of athleticism and versatility that has long been on display for Waratah in the NTFLW.


Elise Barwick, Lauren Bella, Kiara Bischa, Tara Bohanna, Maddy Brancatisano, Ashanti Bush, Georgia Clayden, Daisy D’Arcy, Darcie Davies, Jac Dupuy, Clara Fitzpatrick, Keely Fullerton, Alana Gee, Meara Girvan, Annabel Kievit, Katie Lynch, Ella Maurer, Cara McCrossan, Niamh McLaughlin, Sienna McMullen, Jordan Membrey, Taya Oliver, Wallis Randell, Charlie Rowbottom, Vivien Saad, Lucy Single, Ella Smith, Jamie Stanton, Claudia Whitfort, Charlotte Wilson