Four SUNS have received NEAFL MVP votes in the Round 8 loss to Sydney at Metricon Stadium.

The SUNS were competitive for the first half but dropped away in the second to allow the Swans to run away with a 58-point win.

Connor Nutting had a breakout game for the SUNS, kicking three goals and finishing with 17 disposals.

He received three votes for his performance, alongside midfielder Will Brodie who polled the same amount for his 27-disposal, nine-tackle match.

George Horlin-Smith was influential in the midfield and provided plenty of voice, receiving one vote for his 21 disposals and seven tackles.

Jacob Dawson also found plenty of the ball in defence and received one vote for his 25 disposals, four marks and four tackles.

For Sydney, first-year draftee James Rowbottom was adjudged best on ground and climbed to equal-first on the NEAFL MVP leaderboard after his nine votes.

Ryley Stoddart (five votes), Darcy Cameron (four), James Rose (two) and James Bell (two) rounded out the list.

The NEAFL Most Valuable Player Award is presented to the player uniquely judged the best in the competition by a combination of umpire and coaches votes.

The votes are submitted post-game cast on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis. As such, the maximum amount of votes a single player can earn per match is 10 – courtesy of the maximum five votes from both umpires and coaches.

The progress of the MVP voting is published on the NEAFL website for the first 12 rounds of the season, but withheld from that point on until the winner is revealed at the end of season awards night.

Gold Coast v Sydney
9: James Rowbottom (Sydney)
5: Ryley Stoddart (Sydney)
4: Darcy Cameron (Sydney)
3: Will Brodie (Gold Coast)
3: Connor Nutting (Gold Coast)
2: James Rose (Sydney)
2: James Bell (Sydney)
1: George Horlin-Smith (Gold Coast)
1: Jacob Dawson (Gold Coast)


36: James Rowbottom (Sydney)
36: Matt Shaw (Southport)
33: Tyler Roos (Southport)
26: Craig Malone (Redland)
24: Alex Smout (Canberra)
24: Colin O’Riordan (Sydney)
23: Ben Keays (Brisbane)
23: Ryan Bastinac (Brisbane)
21: Adam Gulden (Sydney Uni)
20: Mitch Maguire (Canberra)