Izak Rankine has extended his contract with the club, committing through to the end of the 2022 season.

Rankine, the SUNS second pick, selection three overall in the 2018 NAB AFL Draft, is an excitement machine who showed glimpses of what he can provide at AFL level during this year’s JLT Community series.

Although yet to feature at the top level in 2019 due to injury Rankine said he had no hesitation in committing his future to the club.

“The club and Gold Coast community has been fantastic to me and I had no hesitation in extending my time at the club,” Rankine said.

“Since I’ve arrived, I’ve loved my time on the Coast. I’ve learnt so much about footy and my body and am looking forward to continuing that over the coming years.

“There have been so many different people who have invested their time in me, I can’t wait to repay them. 

“As a group of players, we’re all really tight and that’s definitely a footy club I want to be around.”

General Manager Football Operations, Jon Haines was pleased that the reset that commenced at the end of 2018 and its strategic investment in its environment was being recognised by the playing group.

“The reset that we have undertaken is designed to set strong foundations for the club. We are committed to building the club in a considered and strategic manner and the fact that Izak, along with a core group of senior players have committed the next phase of their career to the club is further recognition that they feel they are part of a club with great people and an environment that is building towards success.” Haines said.

“It’s really exciting to have Izak commit to the club and his team mates. He’s come into our program with a great attitude, has worked diligently and brings a great energy to the playing group. We love Izak and everything that he brings to the club and our community”. 

Rankine joins a group of core players to re-sign with the club this season including leadership group members, David Swallow, Jarrod Witts, Touk Miller and Alex Sexton as well as Rory Thompson, Peter Wright, Ben Ainsworth and Jack Bowes.