At the halfway point of the NEAFL season, the team at SUNS Media have had a look at the club’s best performers in the NEAFL MVP award. 

After 12 rounds of the NEAFL competition, the SUNS have played 10 matches and had 18 players in total poll votes in the award.

On-ballers Will Brodie and Michael Rischitelli lead the way with 21 votes each, 10 votes shy of reaching the top 10 for the entire competition. 

Ruckman Tom Nicholls is third on the list of SUNS with 19 votes after finding some good form in the win over Southport in the last match with seven votes.

Key forward Sam Day has also had a strong season in the NEAFL with 12 votes, but is now an incumbent in the AFL side.

Aaron Young is fifth on the list with 10 and could return from injury this weekend to add more votes to his total.

The current leader of the award is Sydney Swans midfielder James Rowbottom with 52 votes.

The NEAFL Most Valuable Player Award is presented to the player uniquely judged the best in the competition by a combination of umpire and coaches votes.

The votes are submitted post-game cast on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis. As such, the maximum amount of votes a single player can earn per match is 10 – courtesy of the maximum five votes from both umpires and coaches.

The progress of the MVP voting is published on the NEAFL website for the first 12 rounds of the season, but withheld from that point on until the winner is revealed at the end of season awards night.

NEAFL MVP: SUNS Leaderboard – Round 12

21: Will Brodie
21: Michael Rischitelli
19: Tom Nicholls
12: Sam Day
10: Aaron Young
7: George Horlin-Smith
7: Brad Scheer
6: Jacob Dawson
5: Sean Lemmens
4: Jack Leslie
3: Connor Nutting
3: Callum Ah Chee
3: Josh Schoenfeld
2: Chris Burgess
2: Josh Corbett
1: Caleb Graham
1: Ben King
1: Fitzroy Greenwool


52: James Rowbottom (Sydney)
41: Matthew Payne (Aspley)
40: Tyler Roos (Southport)
37: Angus Baker (Canberra)
36: Matt Shaw (Southport)
34: Craig Malone (Redland)
33: Ryan Bastinac (Brisbane)
32: Abraham Ankers (NT Thunder)
31: Alex Smout (Canberra)
31: Adam Gulden (Sydney Uni)