Two SUNS have polled NEAFL MVP votes in the loss to GWS on the weekend.

Will Brodie continued his impressive form with 26 disposals, 11 clearances, four inside 50’s and a goal in the match.

He was rewarded with four votes for his efforts. 

Meanwhile Sam Day took some impressive marks in the forward line, finishing with seven for the day and leading to his two goals which saw him claim one MVP vote.

The Giants’ Jackson Hately was voted best afield alongside Daniel Lloyd with nine votes apiece, while Matthew Flynn (4) and Tom Green (3) also featured.

The NEAFL Most Valuable Player Award is presented to the player uniquely judged the best in the competition by a combination of umpire and coaches votes.

The votes are submitted post-game cast on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis. As such, the maximum amount of votes a single player can earn per match is 10 – courtesy of the maximum five votes from both umpires and coaches.

The progress of the MVP voting is published on the NEAFL website for the first 12 rounds of the season, but withheld from that point on until the winner is revealed at the end of season awards night.


GIANTS v Gold Coast

9: Jackson Hately (GIANTS)
9: Daniel Lloyd (GIANTS)
4: Will Brodie (Gold Coast)
4: Matthew Flynn (GIANTS)
3: Tom Green (GIANTS)
1: Sam Day (Gold Coast) 


36: James Rowbottom (Sydney)
36: Matt Shaw (Southport)
33: Tyler Roos (Southport)
29: Craig Malone (Redland)
28: Alex Smout (Canberra)
27: Angus Baker (Canberra)
25: Mitch Maguire (Canberra)
24: Matt Hammelmann (Redland)
24: Colin O’Riordan (Sydney)
23: Jacob Allison (Brisbane)