The AFL Queensland Schools Cup finals kick off today at Maroochydore Multisports Complex, with a number of local Gold Coast schools to feature in the tournament. 

In total six Gold Coast and four North Queensland schools have qualified for the finals which run across the weekend.

The Schools Cup is AFL Queensland’s premier schools’ competition with the state-wide tournament open to boys and girls across five divisions. 

These are Primary, Junior (Year 7-9), Senior (Year 10-12), Junior Inclusion – male (Year 7-9) and Junior Inclusion – male (Year 10-12)

Palm Beach Currumbin State School has the most teams in action for Gold Coast, with a junior female, senior male and senior female team qualifying.

The other Gold Coast schools set to compete are Helensvale SHS (junior & senior male), Hillcrest Christian College (primary female), Miami SHS (senior female), Varisty State College (junior female) and Marymount Primary School (primary male).

For Marymount, it’s the school’s first appearance at the state titles after being unsuccessful on two previous occasions.

Townsville’s Ryan Catholic College also has three teams competing; a junior female, primary male and inclusion team.

Other North Queensland Schools are St Augustine’s in Cairns (senior and junior male), The Cathedral College in Rockhampton (senior female) and Kirwan SS in Townsville (primary female).

In 2019, 603 teams and 11,964 students participated across the competition.

The top 30 teams are invited to the finals of the state titles where eight State Champions will be crowned on Sunday October 20.