Seventeen Gold Coast SUNS Female Academy players have been named in the team for Round 2 of the 2019 Bond University Under 18 AFL Women’s National Championships.

AFL Queensland will host the second round of the national championships on the Gold Coast, with players from Victoria, Western Australia, New South Wales, Tasmania, South Australia and the Northern Territory travelling to compete in matches at Metricon Stadium, Southport and Bond University.

Queensland’s team of 24 will come up against Victoria Country, Victoria Metro and the Eastern Allies over the five-day round.

SUNS Academy Manager Jason Torney told SUNS Media it was fantastic to see so many Gold Coast players given the opportunity to play representative football in their own backyard.

“To have 17 girls named in the squad for Round 2 is an outstanding result for the Academy,” he said.

“These girls have worked hard this season for the opportunity to play for Queensland, and a number of them will be using these games to put their hands up to be drafted by the SUNS at the end of the year.

“It’s great for female football both on the Gold Coast and in North Queensland.”

Queensland Coach James Gellie said the opportunity to round out the national carnival in a familiar setting such as the Gold Coast would provide a definitive boost to the team.

“It’s probably a bit more of the norm for the girls to play in their home state so we’re really looking forward to that challenge,” Gellie said.

“We just need to concentrate on what we need to do on field and hopefully the home ground advantage will help us.”

2019 Bond University Under 18 AFL Women's Queensland State Academy Team- Round 2

2. Annie Muir (Broadbeach/Bond/Gold Coast SUNS Academy)
3. Chloe Gregory (Narangba/Maroochydore/Brisbane Lions Academy)
4. Lily Postlethwaite (Moreton Bay/Maroochydore/Brisbane Lions Academy)
5. Daisy D'Arcy (Hermit Park, Townsville/Gold Coast SUNS Academy)
6. Allanah Phineasa (Rookie/Gold Coast SUNS Academy)
8. Belle Dawes (Coolum/Maroochydore/Brisbane Lions Academy)
9. Tarni White (Coorparoo/Brisbane Lions Academy)
10. Sara-Jane O'Grady (Brothers, Rockhampton/ Gold Coast SUNS Academy)
11. Tiarna Ahwang (North Cairns/Bond/Gold Coast SUNS Academy)
13. Dee Heslop (Southport/Yeronga/Gold Coast SUNS Academy)
14. Serene Watson (Southport/Bond/ Gold Coast SUNS Academy)
15. Tahlia Hickie (Coorparoo/Brisbane Lions Academy)
16. Ellie Hampson (Hermit Park, Townsville/Gold Coast SUNS Academy)
18. Hayley Moore (Coorparoo/Brisbane Lions Academy)
19. Zimmorlei Farqharson (Dalby/Calamvale/Brisbane Lions Academy)
20. Charlotte Hammans (Burleigh/Bond/Gold Coast SUNS Academy)
21. Taylor Smith (Bond/Gold Coast SUNS Academy)
23. Haze-Lee Martin  (Southport/Bond/Gold Coast SUNS Academy)
24. Annise Bradfield (Southport/Bond/Gold Coast SUNS Academy)
26. Maddison Levi (Burleigh/Bond/Gold Coast SUNS Academy)
27. Kitara Whap-Farrar (South Cairns/Bond/Gold Coast SUNS Academy)
29. Georgia Eller (Broadbeach/Bond/Gold Coast SUNS Academy)
30. Emmii-Lee Zanker-Close (Southport/Bond/Gold Coast SUNS Academy)
33. Lily Tarlington (Mackay City Hawks/Magpies/Gold Coast SUNS Academy)