The AFL have today revealed the 2020 Toyota AFL Premiership season will resume on June 11. 

Presidents and CEOs of the 18 clubs were told Friday morning in an online hook-up of the AFL’s resumption plans, including permission to begin non-contact training next Monday.

The Gold Coast will host four interstate clubs – West Coast, Fremantle, Adelaide and Port Adelaide – at RACV Royal Pines and Palm Meadows, with those teams set to play a series of matches against the SUNS and Brisbane Lions.

Contact training at clubs will be permitted from May 25.

The first matches in the new fixture will be released publicly next week.

All players and club officials have to be tested before entering their facilities on Monday for training, and will be tested twice a week indefinitely.

The game’s official broadcasters – Channel Seven and Foxtel – have requested that the “traditional” fixturing structure of Thursday to Sunday be maintained where possible for the scheduling of the remaining 144 matches of the season.

There may be occasional matches played outside that structure.