The Gold Coast SUNS have five players nominated for the annual AFL Players’ Association (AFLPA) end-of-season awards.

The SUNS playing group has voted in their top three candidates for the coveted AFLPA MVP Award, with Sam Collins, Touk Miller and Jarrod Witts earning the nod from their peers. 

The nomination for the MVP Award is a two-stage process.

The first involves players nominating three teammates for the award, before three nominees from every club are presented to the wider playing group for a vote to decide the winner.

Players cannot vote for their own teammates in stage two of the process.


In a year where he has established himself as one of the best key defenders in the competition, Collins has also been nominated for the Most Courageous Award.

Collins is ranked second in the league for intercept possessions, and fourth for intercept marks.

Witts enters the final game of the season ranked third among ruckman for hitouts in 2020, while Miller is ranked fourth in the league for tackles. 

Rising Star nominee Noah Anderson has been put forward for the AFLPA Best First Year Award, while Witts and David Swallow both qualified for the Best Captain Award.

Gold Coast’s 2020 AFLPA Award Nominees:

MVP: Sam Collins, Touk Miller, Jarrod Witts

Most Courageous: Sam Collins 

Best First Year: Noah Anderson

Best Captain: David Swallow, Jarrod Witts