The Gold Coast SUNS will take a squad of 26 players into the game against the Brisbane Lions on Saturday afternoon at Metricon Stadium. 

With centre bounce at 3pm, it will be Stuart Dew's sides first opportunity ahead of the 2021 Toyota AFL Premiership Season to test themselves against AFL opposition. 

The two sides will face each other twice in the space of ten days after the AFL announced a revamped AAMI Community Series Fixture earlier this week, with both teams set to meet on Monday 8th March at 6:10pm AEST at Metricon Stadium.

Unfortunately for SUNS members and Fans this weekend's practice match against the Brisbane Lions will be held behind closed doors, as per AFL directive.

Under AFL Broadcasting Guidelines will be unable to live-stream the match as it conflicts with a live NAB AFLW Premiership fixture.

SUNS Media will be aiming to bring members extensive coverage throughout the day providing updates across its platforms, be sure to follow us on FacebookInstagram and Twitter

Players not selected in the AFL Practice Match Squad will take place in a VFL Practice Match against a Brisbane Lions side at 12pm.

AFL Practice Match v Lions 

1. Hugh Greenwood

3. Jack Bowes

4. Brandon Ellis

5. Jarrod Harbrow 

6. Alex Sexton

7. Will Brodie

9. Ben Ainsworth

10. Charlie Ballard

11. Touk Miller

12. Sam Day

13. Jack Lukosius

14. Lachie Weller

15. Noah Anderson

17. Oleg Markov

18. Matthew Rowell

22. Izak Rankine

23. Sean Lemmens 

24. David Swallow

26. Sam Flanders

27. Wil Powell 

28. Jarrod Witts 

29. Chris Burgess

34. Ben King

35. Connor Budarick 

44. Darcy Macpherson

46. Caleb Graham



The VFL Squad to take on the Brisbane Lions VFL side will feature a mix of AFL listed and Academy players. AFL listed players below:

8. Brayden Fiorini 

19. Josh Corbett

20. Jack Hombsch

21. Jacob Townsend

30. Alex Davies

32. Zac Smith

33. Aiden Fyfe

37. Jeremy Sharp

39. Nick Holman

41. Malcolm Rosas Jnr

43. Jez McLennan

45. Luke Towey

47. Hewago Pal Oea

48. Matthew Conroy

50. Jy Farrar