The Gold Coast SUNS have finalised their team ahead of the clubs Round 1 2021 Toyota AFL Premiership Fixture against the West Coast Eagles at Optus Stadium.

The final game of the round on Sunday afternoon starts at 3:10pm (AWST) local time, 5:10pm (AEST), will see the SUNS look to kickstart their campaign with the longest road trip of the year.

Oleg Markov has been named to make his club debut after an impressive pre-season on the coast, lining up at half back.

As outlined by Senior Coach Stuart Dew earlier in the week, third year SUN Izak Rankine has overcome a minor ankle injury and will take his spot in the forward line.

Matt Rowell took the competition by storm last year before being halted by a shoulder injury suffered in Round 5 against Geelong. He will make his return to the SUNS side joining, Hugh Greenwood, Jarrod Witts and Touk Miller at the first centre bounce.

The defensive group has a group that played the majority of the 2021 season together but also includes new face Oleg Markov alongside the likes of Vice-Captain Sam Collins, Charlie Ballard, Wil Powell, Connor Budarick and Sean Lemmens.

Ben King and Sam Day will be the key pillars in the forward line, with Captain David Swallow, Izak Rankine, Lachie Weller and Darcy Macpherson being named in the forward half.

Brandon Ellis and Jack Lukosius have been named on the wing.

Noah Anderson, Will Brodie, Alex Sexton and Jack Bowes will come off the interchange bench.

Nick Holman, Caleb Graham, Chris Burgess and Jarrod Harbrow have all been named as emergencies for the game, with one player to be selected prior to the game as a Medical Substitute.

Every precaution has been taken with Ben Ainsworth who didn’t make the trip west after suffering tightness in his hamstring with the small forward expected to be pushing his case for selection in Round 2.

The match will be live on Fox Footy, 7mate (check your local guide) and streamed on the Kayo platform.



Connor Budarick

Sam Collins

Sean Lemmens


Wil Powell

Charlie Ballard

Oleg Markov


Brandon Ellis

Hugh Greenwood

Jack Lukosius


David Swallow

Sam Day

Lachie Weller


Izak Rankine

Ben King

Darcy Macpherson


Jarrod Witts

Matt Rowell

Touk Miller


Noah Anderson

Jack Bowes



Will Brodie

Alex Sexton



Chris Burgess

Caleb Graham

Jarrod Harbrow


Nick Holman