Seven SUNS have polled NEAFL MVP votes in the Round 6 win over Aspley.

Midfielder Will Brodie and ruckman Tom Nicholls shared top spot with five votes apiece.

Brodie was dominant in the midfield with 34 disposals and 11 clearances, whereas Nicholls had 36 hitouts, and followed up at ground level with 17 disposals and a goal.

Key defender Jack Leslie featured for the first time this year with four votes for his role in shutting down Aspley tall forward Jono Freeman, holding him to just six disposals and without a goal.

Jacob Dawson was prolific with 26 disposals and 12 marks off half-back, culminating in three votes.

Josh Schoenfeld (24 disposals) and Michael Rischtelli (18) were strong in the midfield, resulting in two votes apiece.

Sam Day rounded out the vote-getters with one for his work in the forward half, hauling in seven marks and booting two goals.

The NEAFL Most Valuable Player Award is presented to the player uniquely judged the best in the competition by a combination of umpire and coaches votes.

The votes are submitted post-game cast on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis. As such, the maximum amount of votes a single player can earn per match is 10 – courtesy of the maximum five votes from both umpires and coaches.

The progress of the MVP voting is published on the NEAFL website for the first 12 rounds of the season, but withheld from that point on until the winner is revealed at the end of season awards night.


Aspley v Gold Coast
5: Will Brodie (Gold Coast)
5: Tom Nicholls (Gold Coast)
4: Matthew Payne (Aspley)
4: Jack Leslie (Gold Coast)
3: Jacob Dawson (Gold Coast)
3: Jackson Allen (Aspley)
2: Josh Schoenfeld (Gold Coast)
2: Michael Rischitelli (Gold Coast)
1: Sam Day (Gold Coast)
1: Tom Templeton (Aspley)

36: Matt Shaw (Southport)
27: James Rowbottom (Sydney)
24: Colin O’Riordan (Sydney)
23: Ben Keays (Brisbane)
23: Tyler Roos (Southport)
22: Alex Smout (Canberra)
21: Adam Gulden (Sydney Uni)
20: Abraham Ankers (NT Thunder)
19: Ryan Bastinac (Brisbane)
19: Ryan Clarke (Sydney)