Ahead of QClash20 at Metricon Stadium tomorrow the Gold Coast SUNS has today announced its official Team of the First Decade, presented by Hostplus.

As part of the club’s celebration of 10 years at Metricon Stadium this weekend, the team has been released to acknowledge the on-field contributions of the club’s best players throughout that period.

The team was selected by a panel made up of inaugural and current senior coaches, Guy McKenna and Stuart Dew, SUNS club games record holder, Jarrod Harbrow, Herald Sun journalist Mark Robinson, and Fox Footy commentator and three-time premiership player Alastair Lynch.

Gold Coast SUNS CEO Mark Evans played the role of non-voting Chairman.

Selection was based on players’ performances exclusively during their time at the SUNS and was chosen from almost 60 players who had played 30+ games for the Club or finished top three in the Club Champion Award.

“As part of the celebrations for the 10th anniversary of our first match at Metricon Stadium, we wanted to honour the players who have been central to this journey by creating a Team of the First Decade,” Evans said.

“This 10-year milestone is a great chance to reflect on our short history and to build the sense of pride that comes with celebrating our people and events.

“We are a young club with a very bright future and everyone who has played here has helped establish the SUNS on the Gold Coast. This team celebrates those who played the best footy for this club in our first 10-years.

“There was strong debate amongst the panel and, as expected, a number of players were very unlucky to not make the final 22. That’s always the way with selecting these teams.

“I want to thank the panel for helping with the tough task of picking a final 22 and to also congratulate those players selected. There are some very, very talented players in this team and we are proud of them.”

Gary Ablett has been named Captain and David Swallow Vice-Captain.

Nine current SUNS players made the team (Sam Collins, Jarrod Harbrow, Charlie Ballard, Touk Miller, Alex Sexton, Jarrod Witts, David Swallow, Sam Day, Lachie Weller) and every winner of the Club Champion Award (Ablett, Tom Lynch, Swallow, Harbrow, Witts and Collins).

The Team of the First Decade will be permanently displayed at the SUNS Austworld Centre training base. 

goldcoastfc.com.au will soon release a fan voted Team of the First Decade.