The Gold Coast SUNS will have a big return in the VFL this week with important key forward Sam Day named to play his first game since AFL Round 2.

Day went down with a knee injury (meniscus) in the match against North Melbourne at Metricon Stadium but has recovered fully and will be back in action this weekend as he aims to return to AFL level.

Rory Atkins also returns to the line-up after being omitted from the AFL side, however Josh Corbett, Jy Farrar and Caleb Graham remain on AFL emergency duties and won’t play in the VFL.

The SUNS will have 17 AFL-listed players for the match against the Swans at Tramway Oval in New South Wales.

The match starts at 11:05am this Saturday and will be broadcast on Kayo Freebies.

VFL Team:

  1. Rory Atkins
  2. Jarrod Harbrow
  3. Will Brodie
  4. Brayden Fiorini
  5. Ben Ainsworth
  6. Sam Day
  7. Jack Hombsch
  8. Jacob Townsend 
  9. Alex Davies
  10. Jordan Murdoch
  11. Aiden Fyfe
  12. Jeremy Sharp
  13. Joel Jeffrey
  14. Patrick Murtagh
  15. Jez McLennan
  16. Darcy Macpherson
  17. Luke Towey
  18. Max Pescud*
  19. Bailey Reeves*
  20. Bodhi Uwland
  21. Jack Johnston*
  22. Ryan Pickering*