The Gold Coast SUNS have made one change to its side ahead of the blockbuster Round 2 clash at Metricon Stadium against the Melbourne Demons. 

Darcy Macpherson has been omitted from the side that took down the Eagles by 27 points in Round 1 at Optus Stadium.

Alex Sexton will come into the side as the club prepares to take on the reigning premiers for its first home game of the season at Metricon Stadium. 

Sexton was the medical substitute in Round 1 has been named on the interchange bench but is expected to slot straight into a forward line that put on a consistent performance, across the board, on Sunday evening in Perth. 

It will be a great test for a SUNS side coming up against Melbourne, fresh off winning the premiership last season and starting strongly against the Bulldogs in the season opener last Wednesday night. 

The Midfield battle will be one to watch, Gawn v Witts in the ruck, whilst Touk Miller, Matt Rowell, Noah Anderson, Brayden Fiorini and second-year midfielder Alex Davies against the likes of Christian Petracca, Clayton Oliver, Jack Viney and James Harmes.

Gates Open at 5pm for a 7pm centre bounce at Metricon Stadium.

For all your match day information click here.

The SUNS award winning Match day experience will be back in full flight this Saturday night after two seasons impacted by Covid restrictions with fun for people of all ages. 

For those who can’t make it to Metricon Stadium, tune in live on Fox Footy, Kayo and 7mate in Queensland.

Rory Atkins, Josh Corbett, Sam Flanders and Darcy Macpherson have all been named as emergencies for the match.

Round 1 Final Team:


24. David Swallow

25. Sam Collins

23. Sean Lemmens


14. Lachie Weller

10. Charlie Ballard

27. Wil Powell


20. Jeremy Sharp

11. Touk Miller

4. Brandon Ellis


7. Nick Holman

30. Levi Casboult

13. Jack Lukosius


22. Izak Rankine

1. Mabior Chol

9. Ben Ainsworth


28. Jarrod Witts

18. Matt Rowell

15. Noah Anderson


5. Alex Davies

8. Brayden Fiorini

46. Caleb Graham


6. Alex Sexton




2. Rory Atkins

19. Josh Corbett

26. Sam Flanders


44. Darcy Macpherson